Statutes of Limitations in Your Florida Workers’ Compensation Case

If you have ever been involved in any type of lawsuit or workers’ compensation claim, you have likely heard the term “statute of limitations.” However, due you really know what that means?

A statute of limitations is a provision in place that ends the right a person has to sue for compensation or claim benefits for an injury or damages caused by another person or entity. According to Florida law, you lose your right to recover compensation unless your case is filed within a period of: Read More

Standard of Medical Care Provided Injured Workers with Worker Comp Claims

The Denver Post reported on a recent class action settlement in a worker compensation case brought against Wal-Mart in Colorado. Injured Wal-Mart employees with workers comp claims alleged that Wal-Mart and its adjuster hindered medical providers from making independent judgments on how to treat injured workers. Federal judge Robert Blackburn in the U.S. District Court for Colorado gave final approval to the more than $8 million settlement of the class action lawsuit. Read More

Workers Compensation Roadblocks

Workers Compensation is a program that helps employees injured on-the-job by providing income and medical benefits. It is a federal program that is state-regulated, and most states require employers to have workers compensation insurance for their employees. In Florida, construction companies with one or more employees must carry workers comp insurance, and other industry businesses with four or more employees must carry it. Medical bills related to injuries sustained on-the-job are covered under this insurance, and a portion of lost wages are provided to the worker. Read More

Is There Job Security While On Worker Comp?

For those who are out on workers comp, the easiest way to have job security is to file paperwork under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). FMLA provides injured workers with compensatory benefits for up to 12 weeks per year without risk of losing your job while you recover. Federal law requires all employers to comply with this. Even if state law allows companies to fire someone while on workers comp, federal laws carry more weight. The employer is required to at least try to find a position for someone after he or she returns from disability leave. The only way a company can deny the person a position is if they cannot afford to pay the person to work in any position for the company. Read More

Changes to Florida Workers Compensation Law

A variety of changes have recently been implemented to worker Compensation law as it is practiced in the state of Florida. In July 2011, Gov. Rick Scott signed HB 1087 into law—a broad, sweeping piece of legislation that changes how cancellations, audits, benefits and other related items are processed. Read More

Get a Free Case Evaluation Now




Frequently Asked Questions

You’ve Got Questions?
We’ve Got Answers.
Click the button below
to get started.

Workers Compensation FAQs