In Florida, injured workers are entitled to be compensated for mileage incurred on pharmacies, authorized medical appointments, therapy centers, and hospitals if they receive authorized medical services through their workers’ compensation. If you have been trying to know the rate of the workers’ compensation mileage reimbursement in Florida, this article will discuss it.
The fact is there is no particular reimbursement amount. However, the typical workers’ compensation mileage reimbursement in Florida by most carriers is .445 cents per mile. The rate utilized was 29 cents per mile before 2006. The rate changed to .445 cents per mile in July 2006 as a result of the Florida Statute’s amendment 112.061(7)(d).
On September 1, 1994, the Florida Department of Labor and Employment Security, Division of Workers’ Compensation, issued a bulleting on workers’ compensation medical mileage reimbursement claimants, which was tied to section 112.061(7)(d), Florida Statute of the state travel provisions. Florida Statutes of section 112.061(7)(d) was amended on July 1, 2006, to increase the reimbursement rate to forty-four and one-half cents per mile for state travel. The amount of the amended statutory reimbursement will be forty-four and one-half cents per mile will be available as a basis for the medical mileage reimbursement amount for carriers or employers that utilizes Florida Statutes section 112.061(7)(d) meant for the statutory reimbursement provisions.
During a prevailing IRS rate, cases have arisen where a claimant has alleged that they are entitled to reimbursement, and a Judge of Compensation Claims ordered a higher reimbursement rate after accepting that claim. However, the District Court of Appeal has not given any appellate direction in this regard.
Do not hesitate to reach out to Scott J. Sternberg & Associates, top-notch Florida’s workers’ compensation lawyers, so they can answer any questions you might have regarding workers’ compensation. The experienced lawyers working with them have represented injured workers in the Broward and Palm Beach County. Call for a free consultation today to put their experience to work.
Workers’ Compensation mileage Reimbursement and Other Out-Of-Pocket Costs
You have an understanding of your state worker’s comp system paying you for your lost wages and medical bills if you’re injured on the job. If you have other out-of-pocket expenses incurred by your injury, you can also get reimbursed.
Mileage and Travel Expenses
In most states like Florida, you can get reimbursed for your mileage when traveling. It is required for you to get medical treatment for your work injury, including attending a rehabilitation appointment or a doctor’s appointment. Most states reimburse for any miles driven to and from these appointments. However, there are specific restrictions for some states on mileage reimbursement. You will only be eligible for mileage reimbursement, for example, when you travel more than 20 miles round trip in Oklahoma.
The mileage rate set by the IRS changes from year to year, and you will need insurance companies to reimburse you by many states. 57.7 cents per mile is the rate for 2020, and the mileage reimbursement aims to cover the cost of gas as well as wear and tear on your car.
The reimbursement also covers the ride-share company, public transportation, taxi, or the cost of transportation generally, if you don’t have a car. It also includes tolls you may have to pay along the way and any parking fees you incur at your doctor’s office.
Out-of-Pocket Medical Expenses
The insurance company will receive the bill for all your treatment from your doctor. However, you may have some out-of-pocket medical expenses to pay, such as medical devices like crutches or wheelchair, first aid supplies, or prescriptions. You may need to pay for treatment during the visit when you are required to go for an urgent care center right away or have to go to an emergency room at the time of your initial injury. You are permitted to reimbursement for those costs even though this cost was incurred before you filed your worker’s comp claim.
If you incur other expenses, you could be qualified for reimbursement because of the illness or injury at your workplace. Some states reimburse you for medically-necessary items that get damaged during the accident, including hearing aids or a pair of eyeglasses. As for some states, you can get reimbursed for attendance care, even if a family member provides it.
You are more likely to get reimbursed if you have an explanation or proof of how the expense is related to your injury, even when the insurance company attempts to argue that some of your costs are unnecessary or not related to your injury.
It is essential to prove the costs you incurred due to your injury to be reimbursed for eligible expenses. As such, keep records of receipts, bills, and other evidence of payment. Attach copies of your receipts to the insurance company with your request for reimbursement.
Let Experienced Florida Worker’s Compensation Lawyer Help You
Contact Scott J. Sternberg & Associates, P.A. today for a free consultation to help you with any questions you might have concerning workers’ compensation in Florida. They have put their 15 years of experience to practice and will help you obtain the benefits you deserve.