Florida Workers' Compensation Lawyers

Call Today for Free Consultation

Call Today for Free Consultation

Getting to Know Florida Workers’ Compensation Laws: A Brief Guide

Getting to Know Florida Workers Compensation Laws 1
Getting to Know Florida Workers Compensation Laws 1

Being injured while on the job can be a difficult situation. Do you report the injury, or continue working, as if nothing happened? Failure to report your injury in a timely manner may result in you forfeiting your ability to ever collect workers’ compensation.

There’s no need to be apprehensive about filing a workers’ compensation claim. You can even hire a work injury lawyer in Florida to help along the way. In addition to seeking legal assistance, getting a better understanding of the law can also be beneficial. Learn more here.

Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Florida

According to Florida law, it’s necessary for employers to carry and keep workers’ compensation insurance coverage. This provides protection if a worker is injured or if they become ill while they are on the job. This coverage is designed to provide assistance to the injured workers and their families by providing additional money for medical costs, money for replacing lost wages, and similar expenses.

Reporting Your Workplace Injury

If you are injured or if you become ill while you are working in the state of Florida, you need to report the situation to your employer immediately. Even if you wait to report the injury, you don’t need to let 30 days from the injury pass. Once reported, your employer is required to pass the information on to their workers’ compensation insurance provider. If your employer refuses to do this, you have the right to report the incident to their insurer.

Workers’ Compensation Benefits

When workers’ compensation benefits are provided, they will typically be two-thirds of your average weekly pay. However, because this calculation is often dependent on your schedule or other outside factors, having the help of a work injury lawyer in Florida can be invaluable. They can review your case and situation and make sure the calculation is done properly and that you receive the correct amount of compensation.

Once approved for benefits, you will begin receiving a check on a bi-weekly basis. In most cases, your benefits won’t cover the initial seven days you are disabled, unless you are disabled for over 21 days. In this situation, the insurer may be for the initial seven days, too. The payments for partial or total disability will last for a maximum of 104 weeks.

Hire a Work Injury Lawyer in Florida for Assistance

If you have suffered an injury while on the job, then you may be able to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Hiring a work injury lawyer in Florida is the best way to know if this is possible. Additionally, the legal representation you hire can help ensure you receive the full amount of benefits you are entitled to according to the law.

To learn more about your rights and how to collect workers’ compensation benefits, contact the team of attorneys at the office of Sternberg | Forsythe, P.A. by calling 561-687-5660.

For More Information

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome and Collecting Workers’ Compensation in Florida

How the National Opioid Crisis Is Impacting the Workers’ Compensation System

Recent Posts

You’ve Got Questions?

We’ve Got Answers.
Click the button below to get started.