Anyone who owns a car must have auto insurance. Not only is insuring your vehicle beneficial in the case of an accident, but it will also protect you if you are ever injured in a car accident.
Each state mandates different laws surrounding auto insurance and policies. Florida, on the other hand, is considered a ‘no-fault’ state.
What is No Fault Insurance?
No-fault insurance can easily be explained as a type of insurance in which the driver is insured and compensated by his or her own insurance agencies, regardless of who was determined at fault during an accident.
If it is difficult to see who was at fault for the accident, this can be a good thing. It ensures that drivers are both covered and have little to worry about, such as if the other driver was not insured. One of the problems with this law is that if you are not at fault, you are restricted when it comes to carrying out a civil suit against the other driver.
Florida’s ‘No-Fault’ Laws
In the state of Florida, you are required to have an auto insurance policy which includes:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits with a minimum of $10,000
- Property Damage Liability (PDL) benefits with a minimum of $10,000
Like any other state, driving in the state of Florida without any insurance will result in a ticket and possible license suspension. Florida differs from other states in the fact that the state does not require Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), which covers the injuries of the other driver.
What it Covers
Once you have purchased no-fault insurance from a licensed insurance agent in the state of Florida, it is important to know what exactly is covered for you in the case of an accident.
While you must have a minimum of $10,000 benefits for your insurance plan, if your expenses rise above these costs, the insurance will not cover them. No-fault insurance only covers your medical expenses and loss of income. The true cost of an accident can be much more severe than any dollar amount.
Know Your Policy
It is crucial to read your policy before you sign up with any insurance company. You need to know what is included in your policy as well as know your coverage. Once you have read through your policy thoroughly, if you are in an accident, be sure to file your claim for personal injury first.
You can also file a liability claim, which is included in the no-fault laws. This will allow you to seek compensation from the other driver for whatever is not covered under your own insurance.
Contact Scott J. Sternberg & Associates Today
Florida has many laws and regulations that you must follow if you have been involved in a car accident. If you have been in an accident, contact West Palm Beach accident attorney at Scott J. Sternberg & Associates immediately at 561-687-5660 for a free consultation. It doesn’t matter who was at fault in the case of an accident; you deserve justice and compensation for your injuries and vehicle damage.