When you head off to work each day, does the thought of suffering an injury cross your mind? This is probably not at the forefront of your thoughts, but it is a possibility with each passing day.
There is always the chance that an accident can occur while you are at work because of the hazards of your job, dangerous equipment, mistakes made by co-workers and many other reasons.
If you are injured on the job, who will pay your bills? Will you be covered by workers’ compensation? In fact, is your employer obligated to provide workers’ compensation benefits?
What is the Florida Workers’ Compensation Law?
Working in Florida is a dream that many people hold. But that dream can easily turn into a nightmare when you are injured on the job. So, what is the law in Florida when it comes to workers’ compensation? Does your employer have to provide you with these benefits when injured?
In Florida, the law states that any business operating in any industry other than construction that employs at least four people, either full-time or part-time, must provide employees with workers’ compensation benefits. Any corporate officer who is labeled as exempt does not count as one of the four employees under Florida law.
Overview of Florida Workers’ Comp
Below, you will find a brief overview of how workers’ compensation is handled in Florida:
- You have 30 days to report the injury to your employer
- You have two years from the date you suffered the injury to file a claim for benefits
- A limit of $863 per week will be placed on benefits
- Benefits for impairment are decided based on the impairment rating you are assigned
- Any disability that will last less than 22 days will begin receiving benefit payments on day eight
- Benefits will begin paying out on day one for any disability that will last for more than 21 days
- Benefits will be limited to a total of six months for any psychiatric claims that arise from a physical injury
- Employees receiving either temporary partial disability or temporary total disability can receive benefits for up to 104 weeks
- Benefits will be limited to six months if you are receiving up to 80 percent of the regular wage you earn because you suffered an injury deemed to be critical
- Damages will be doubled for any injury suffered by a minor who was illegally employed
- Must seek medical evaluation and treatment from the doctor authorized by your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance provider (failure to do so could result in the denial of your claim)
- Any denial of a claim should be reviewed by an attorney
Call to Schedule an Appointment with an Attorney
If you have been injured on the job in Florida you need to protect your rights immediately. Seek medical treatment from the doctor selected by your employer and then call an experienced workers’ compensation attorney. Call the office of Scott J. Sternberg & Associates, P.A. at (561) 687-5660 to schedule a consultation about your case today.